View Poll Results: Rider position what's best?

Voters
5. You may not vote on this poll
  • Recumbent

1 20.00%
  • Semi-recumbent

1 20.00%
  • Upright - racing position

0 0%
  • Upright - straight back

3 60.00%

Thread: Designing A New Pedicab

davidanz Guest

Default Designing A New Pedicab

Hi all

I'm an italian industrial designer student who’s doing his final master project designing a new
    concept for a non motorised means of transport.

I’ m feeling a strong need of sustainability and trying to put it into my
    projects. This work is a bit political, going against the trend to motorization
    that car manufactures and oil businesses are supporting in the developing
    countries.

I would like to write down here some questions trying to have a feedback from the user’s point of view.

Focus points of the project are below, followed by some questions I would ask the reader of this:

1 - optimization of dimensions (looking at transforming citycars, something that could be smaller when the rider is alone, and gets longer or larger to host passengers).
    a_Do any pedicab rider ever felt this need? Is it bad to ride a huge vehicle when you’re alone?
    b_Do you think telescopic structure, adjustable to the number of passengers, -maybe with hidden seats like inside Land Rover hatch- could be useful?
    c_Or would it be better to mantain a simple and compact but FIXED light structure?

2 – passengers’ access ease
    a_i saw bikesatwork pedicabs, and I think, eventhough they re not that attractive design-focused, the way passengers seat in front and the low access in a really good feature. This package (rider back, passengers in the front) took inspiration from the Cyclo used in Hanoi and the Malaysia’s Trishaws. They offer the an easy access to the seats and the possibility fro the rider to have some control on his passengers.
    b_Do you think it’s better the rider front-passenger back package or the inverted one?